We Recommend… The Bone Season by Samantha Shannon

The Bone Seasonbone-season-samantha-shannon-bloomsbury-cover
Samantha Shannon
Bloomsbury, 2013.

Imagine the year 2059, in London.  It is a city where a Grand Inquisitor reigns, and anyone with any kind of clairvoyance or psychic ability has to hide it away, because the normal people call them “unnaturals”.  They are in constant danger of being taken by the guards and sent to a secret city that is ruled by human-looking extraterrestrials. Paige Mahoney is a special kind of clairvoyant, a dreamwalker, and she works for one of the criminal lords with a close-knit group of clairvoyants.  Then a day comes when she is kidnapped and taken to the secret city, where the Rephaim treat humans as slaves.  Paige fights the evil Rephaim, and also the strange creatures that feed on both humans and Rephaim, while constantly hoping to escape.  The Bone Season by Samantha Shannon is the author’s debut novel and also the first in her series, followed by The Mime Order.

*Bonus: If you are attempting the “2015 READING CHALLENGE”, The Bone Season fulfills the challenge to read “A book written by someone under 20″, or “A popular author’s first books”, among other possible categories.

On the Web:

Official Book Series Website

Post by Eileen Jaffe, Pinal County Library District Cataloger

Advertisements

Book Club Kit: Among Others

Among Others
by Jo Walton
First Published: 2011
10 Copies & Reading

This is the story of a young woman struggling to escape a troubled childhood, a brilliant diary of first encounters with the great novels of modern fantasy and SF, and a spellbinding tale of escape from ancient enchantment. As a child growing up in Wales, Morwenna Phelps played among the spirits who made their homes in industrial ruins. But her mind found freedom and promise in the science fiction novels that were her closest companions. Then her mother tried to bend the spirits to dark ends, and Mori was forced to confront her in a magical battle that left her crippled–and her twin sister dead…

No Reading Guide?
LitLovers – Generic Questions for Fiction
Book Club Resource – Book Club Discussion Questions and Topics

Reviews:
SF Signal – “Book Review” by Paul Weimer
The Washington Post – “Book Review” by Elizabeth Hand
Booklist – “Review” by Margaret Flanagan

On the Web:

If you enjoyed Among Others, you might like…

We Recommend…Every Day by David Levithan

Every Day by David Levithan
Available formats: Hardcover | 3M Cloud eBook

Every Day is a story about love. A (the main character simply goes by the letter “A”) lives in other people’s bodies. A doesn’t have a choice. A simply wakes up as a different person every day, but still remembers the life lived the day before. One day A falls for the girlfriend of the boy he’s become for a day and there the story begins. The journey A takes over the time of this novel is heartbreaking and beautiful. We peek in on the lives of dozens of 16-year-olds — the beautiful, the obese, the depressed, the athletic — and it’s a great reminder that while we are all different, we are all so similar.

If you’ve read any of the following books and LOVED them, then definitely check out Every Day today! If you haven’t read them, well…they’re great reads! 🙂

Did you read Every Day? Tell us what you thought in the comments!

Book Club Kit: Fablehaven

Fablehaven
by Brandon Mull
First Published: 2006
9 Copies & Reading Guide

When Kendra and Seth go to stay at their grandparents’ estate, they discover that it is a sanctuary for magical creatures and that a battle between good and evil is looming.

Reading Guides:
Multnomah County Library – Includes Book Info, Discussion Questions, Snack Suggestions, and more.
Author’s Website — Teacher’s Guide

Reviews:
GoodreadsBrowse hundreds of reviews of Fablehaven by fellow readers.
Through the Looking Glass Children’s Book Reviews
– “Review of Audio Book” by Marya Jansen-Gruber
Kirkus’ ReviewReviewed on Aug 1 2006

Author’s Website – http://brandonmull.com

Want to read the rest of the series?

Want more fantasy titles similar to Fablehaven, try…

Book Club Kit: The Lost Hero

Rick Riordan - The Lost HeroThe Lost Hero (The Heroes of Olympus #1)
by Rick Riordan
First Published: 2010
10 Copies & Reading Guide

Jason, Piper, and Leo, three students from a school for “bad kids,” find themselves at Camp Half-Blood, where they learn that they are demigods and begin a quest to free Hera, who has been imprisoned by Mother Earth herself.

Reading Guide:
Disney Hyperion – Includes information on Mythology, Author Info, Activities, and Discussion Questions.

Reviews:
Scholastic News Kid Press Corps – “Book Review: The Lost Hero” by Gowtham Balaji
Lesa’s Book Critiques – “Review” by Lesa (an Arizona Librarian)
Kirkus Reviews – “Rick Riordan’s The Lost Hero” by Vicky Smith 

On the Web:
The Online World of Rick Riordan – Filled with fun information about all of his books.
The Heroes of Olympus website – Includes Printables, Character Info, and more.
Arts Beat – “Rick Riordan’s Favorite Childhood Books” by Pamela Paul
Goodreads – Reader written trivia questions and quizzes.

Want to read more like this? Try…

We Recommend…Mechanique by Genevieve Valentine

War has destroyed civilization as we know it. The Mechanical Circus Tresaulti performs outside of any cities still standing, with acts we would recognize: acrobats, aerialists and jugglers, but there is something different about the performers under the surface. Something magical and a little bit sinister.

Part magical fantasy and part post-apocalyptic steampunk, Mechanique by Genevieve Valentine reveals a world where magic and machine coalesce to hold off the forces of war and destruction. The ringmaster and her performers are survivors in a world where everyone is a soldier and no one is safe.

Mechanique is one of six novels nominated for a 2011 Nebula Award. Want to check out more of the best in science fiction and fantasy?

2011 Nebula Award and 2012 Hugo Award Nominees:

A Few of the Past Winners: 

What’s your favorite Sci-Fi/Fantasy title? Tell us in the comments!

New SciFi & Fantasy eAudioBook Titles!

We’ve added some great new titles to our downloadable audio book collection. In addition to already popular titles like The Hunger Games and The Help, we’ve added even more bestselling titles for your listening pleasure. Below are a few of the Sci-Fi & Fantasy titles we’ve added!

11/22/63 by Stephen King – On November 22, 1963, three shots changed the world. What if it never happened? Jake Epping is a 35-year-old high school English teacher in Lisbon Falls, Maine, who makes extra money teaching adults in the GED program. Not much later, Jake’s friend Al, who runs the local diner, divulges a secret: his storeroom is a portal to 1958. He enlists Jake on an insane, and insanely impossible, mission to try to prevent the Kennedy assassination. Also listen to King classics: Misery and The Stand.

A Dance with Dragons by George R.R. Martin – The fifth installment of Martin’s Song of Ice and Fire series. Haven’t listened to the first four books? We’ve got those available, too!

1. A Game of Thrones
2. A Clash of Kings
3. A Storm of Swords
4. A Feast for Crows

Wither & Fever by Lauren DeStefano – The first two books in the Chemical Garden trilogy. Listen to the tale of Rhine – a 16-year-old girl forced into marriage in an effort to keep the population growing. A great listen for fans of The Hunger Games and Delirium.

Starters by Lissa Price – To support herself and her younger brother in a future Beverly Hills, sixteen-year-old Callie hires her body out to seniors who want to experience being young again, and she lives a fairy-tale life until she learns that her body will commit murder, unless her mind can stop it. (Another good one for fans of The Hunger Games!)

Ready Player One by Ernest Cline – Are you an Elizabeth Moon fan? Give RPO a listen! It’s the year 2044, and the real world is an ugly place. Like most of humanity, Wade Watts escapes his grim surroundings by spending his waking hours jacked into the OASIS–a sprawling virtual utopia that lets you be anything you want to be… (And the audiobook is read by Wil Wheaton!)

Don’t forget you can browse the collection by genre, just use the drop-down menu to glance through Romance, Suspense, and History titles.

We Recommend…A Discovery of Witches by Deborah Harkness

Waiting on Diana Gabaldon to publish the next in her Outlander series? Looking for a book where vampires don’t sparkle? Try Deborah Harness’ debut novel A Discovery of Witches.

Take a look at Deborah’s website for more information about The All Souls Trilogy. (The second in the series comes out this summer!)

Penguin is holding a Twitter book club featuring A Discovery of Witches. You can follow along and participate by using the hashtag: #readpenguin. Take a look at this Pinterest board to see all of the places & things mentioned in the book.

Publisher’s description:

Deep in the stacks of Oxford’s Bodleian Library, young scholar Diana Bishop unwittingly calls up a bewitched alchemical manuscript in the course of her research. Descended from an old and distinguished line of witches, Diana wants nothing to do with sorcery; so after a furtive glance and a few notes, she banishes the book to the stacks. But her discovery sets a fantastical underworld stirring, and a horde of daemons, witches, and vampires soon descends upon the library. Diana has stumbled upon a coveted treasure lost for centuries-and she is the only creature who can break its spell.

If you fall in love with this book, you might like: