We Recommend…Uprooted by Naomi Novik

Uprooted
Naomi Novik
Del Rey, 2015

UprootedUprooted, Naomi Novik’s newest novel, is based on Polish folklore and is reminiscent of a Grimm fairy tale. Agnieszka, the daughter of a woodcutter, finds herself unexpectedly taken from the security of her home in the village and thrust into a world she never imagined existed. Lush descriptions will draw you inexorably into a world of magic that is both despised and revered. A world comprised of villages living in fear of the Wood yet helpless to defend themselves. And a world driven by politics that are shaped in part by the Wood and the desperate fear it generates. Allow yourself to luxuriate in the complex world of Uprooted, where the ordinary becomes extraordinary, and the bonds of friendship, love and loyalty can never be taken for granted.

On the Web:
Naomi Novik
Author Interview
Publisher’s Weekly

Read-alikes:
Robin McKinley: Spindle’s End, Beauty, Rose Daughter, The Blue Sword, and The Hero and the Crown
Juliet Marillier: Heart’s Blood
Catherynne Valente: Deathless
Kate Elliott: Cold Magic

Other Resources:
Folklore and Mythology
American Folktales
SurLaLune Fairy Tales
English Fairy Tales: Audio recordings of 43 fairy tales in the public domain.

Video book trailer

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s