We Recommend… I Hear the Sirens in the Street

I Hear the Sirens in the StreetI hear the sirens
by Adrian McKinty

I Hear the Sirens in the Street, book two of The Troubles Trilogy, by Adrian McKinty, continues the series following Detective Sean Duffy of Carrickfergus, Ireland.  This second novel takes place in 1982 near Belfast, and McKinty follows his quirky characters through the bombings and shootings that occur daily and nightly in and around Belfast.  There is an unidentified murder victim found in a suitcase and Duffy and crew have to identify him from a headless torso lacking arms and legs, then discover why he might have been killed.  Along with the mystery, we are given a real feel for what it might have been like to be a member of the police in Northern Ireland during The Troubles.  Book three, In the Morning I’ll Be Gone will be published early in March and there is a rumor that McKinty might be writing a fourth book, which means this will no longer be a trilogy.

Post by Eileen Jaffe, Pinal County Library District Cataloger


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s