We Recommend…. The Cold Cold Ground by Adrian McKinty

The Cold Cold Groundcold-cold-ground
by Adrian McKinty

The Cold Cold Ground is Book one of The Troubles Trilogy by Adrian McKinty.  Although, it looks like he is in the process of writing the fourth book in the Detective Sean Duffy series, so it is no longer a trilogy.  The action takes place in and around Belfast, Northern Ireland in 1981, during the worst of The Troubles.  For a backdrop there are a number of political prisoners engaging in hunger strikes, some of them dying, including the most famous, Bobby Sands.  McKinty’s prose is gritty and also beautiful, as he describes the struggles of the Northern Irish to throw off the yoke of British rule.  His depictions of a country gone crazy is so realistic, we can almost hear the bombs exploding.  Of course, this is a crime novel, so he weaves a complicated mystery, with what looks like a “normal” serial killer in the midst of all the chaos. McKInty is an exciting new author for those who enjoy Ian Rankin and others of the Scotch-Irish writers. Book two is titled “I Hear the Sirens in the Street” while Book three, soon to be published, is titled “In the Morning I’ll Be Gone”.

Post by Eileen Jaffe, Pinal County Library District Cataloger


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s